Ministry to Children and why I enjoy it now

Once upon a time there was a very inexperienced helper trying to help in children’s church. As the teacher taught, one of the little children started rolling on the floor. Then she made her way over to the door, which she opened. Suddenly she took off out into the church yard, the poor inexperienced chap chasing after her. Yes, even by the church windows for everyone inside to see. The inexperienced helper finally went to get the little girl’s Mom to come out and help.

That inexperienced helper was me. I enjoy telling people that story now. Over the years I have grown to enjoy Children’s Ministry. Little by little I learned how valuable object lessons and crafts are. How good it is to serve by helping with children. After ten years as a Sunday School teacher and continuing to help in Children’s church, now God has called me to be a missionary focused on helping churches with their children’s programs. God has helped me to take my faith to a new level.

I love Jesus’ teachings about children. He loved it when they worshiped God in the temple. He was upset when his disciples were trying to keep parents and their children away. Jesus told his disciples only those who would be humble as a child would be greatest in his kingdom. Jesus had many great things to say about children. Jesus had a great big powerful Father’s heart for the children. Jesus also said some frightful things about children and how we treat them. I believe Jesus wants all of us to be powerful godly figures for the children, teaching and training them how to grow in the ways of the Lord. I love how exciting ministry to children can be.

Striving to live each day creatively, Robert.

Leave a Reply

