Spears, Arrows and Masks, “Oh my!” or Why I am a missionary

I am a Christian missionary. God placed this desire in my heart. I remember as a boy loving it when missionaries came to share their stories and show their interesting stuff like spears, arrows and masks. They were not using these things to fight. But only to show and share what the people were like with whom they were trying to share the good news. My first short term mission trip was to Tijuana, Mexico. I loved it. Years later I had the opportunity to go on more STM trips. God used these trips to continue building the desire in my heart to go serve as missionary.

In preparation for a long awaited trip to Israel, I watched a series of on location Holy Land teachings by historian and teacher Ray Vander Laan. I learned that God had called me to “follow”. But now He wanted me to “Go!” After a trip to Israel it was very clear to me that it was time to get ready to “go”. I came back and met with a pastor friend. I told him what I thought God was telling me. He and the Sr. Pastor helped me to prepare to go serve as a missionary. It was not a thing that happened to me all alone. But rather God used many people to prepare me. I am so thankful for them all. 

Even though I am now serving as a full time missionary, God still continues to use others to change me for the better. I know that He has a plan for my life. I eagerly want to continue on His journey that he has planned for me. It is amazing what I have learned and experienced so far. I am looking forward to so much more.

Leave a Reply

